I want to thank the squirrel in my attic – (Mind)

Image

I came to realize, thanks to a squirrel, that I had an erroneous mindset when it came to my goals. I had the concept of Firm-Donkey for over two years and always played around with the idea of doing something with it but always stopped at the point of writing the ideas down. However, I learned that if I raised the standards of my ‘dreaming to do’ vs. my ‘must do’, I will get what I desire to have.

We just moved to Dallas, TX, and purchased our first used home. All of our previous homes were new-builds so I was not prepared for the money costs this house would bring. One of those expenses was due to the fine acts of a damn squirrel that created a hole in our roof. This squirrel was roaming around in our attic, along with his friends, the mice and rats, who decided to show up, as well.

I was determined to eradicate these vermin from my home because I had some negative experiences growing up with them. I remember having to deal with mice running around my bedroom as I stayed on the bed trying to find ways to kill them. As a young man, I would come home to my back house where I would smell the odor of dead rats permeating from within the walls. One time, I had to actually beat a rat to death because it jumped or fell in the shower with me. These experiences were in some way very traumatic to me. I never knew how traumatic until I was faced, as an adult, with rodents in my attic.

 That same day that I was told we had a rodent problem, I quickly started looking for professionals to come out and give us estimates on how to kill and/or remove them. I also needed the holes on the side of the roof to be fixed ASAP so more of these critters wouldn’t show up.  We had three estimates from three different companies, each one being higher than the other. When it was all said and done, we chose a company that was willing to negotiate their price. We were able to work them down 50% less than the original quote. They began working at once on the issue.

Here is the epiphany!

I was not aware of how much I was willing to pay to remove rodents from my life until faced with them. I was not happy, nor prepared, to spend all that money, and especially for that particular purpose. I, however, deemed it necessary to spend every dime needed to eradicate those pests! I pulled this money from my “firm donkey” because it was more important for me (a value) to have my peace of mind and sanity in exchange for that large sum of cash.

If you told me, at that time, I would need that same exact amount of money to get my business to the next level by taking a business class, ordering a product, or paying for some type of advertisement, I would have given you a thousand reasons as to why I could not afford it. I was too complacent in the static position of my business. I didn’t feel the urgency or discomfort that was needed to push me to the next level. It was not until I was faced with one of my worst fears and anxieties (the rodents in my attic) that I could see a value in spending that money.

How does this relate to all of us? You have to face your issues and recognize what your priority is. Are you too complacent and stationary in your life?  Or do you spend money and time to eradicate those things that disturb and disrupt your peace (i.e. debt, marital problems, health, etc.)? How many years have you wasted not pursuing your dreams because you don’t hear rodents in your attic? If each one of us were to take the time to find out what’s in our attic, we could find the value in spending the time or money needed to achieve our goals and attain that peace we’ve always wanted.

 

Leave a Reply

